[Skip to content]

Swallow Logo
Leicester Respiratory Biomedical Research Unit
NHS National Institute for Health Research
  • Home
  • About Us
  • Our Research
  • Our Labs
  • Public
  • News & Events
  • Contact Us

Leicester Respiratory BRU Committee Details


The NIHR Leicester Respiratory Biomedical Research Unit (BRU) has two underlying committees:


Executive Committee

The BRU Executive Committee is responsible for monitoring the finances and progress of the infrastructure platforms of the BRU. The committee is chaired by senior academic Professor Mike Morgan. The Executive committee consists of the Chairman, the Director, the BRU manager, the three research area leads, the chair of the Scientific Committee, and the clinical assessments manager and infrastructure platform managers.

Scientific Committee

The BRU Scientific Committee is responsible for monitoring the scientific aspects of the programme with respect to progress within the research areas and decisions on research priorities. The BRU Scientific committee is chaired by Professor Peter Andrew who is head of the Department Infection, Immunity and Inflammation, University of Leicester, and one of the leading respiratory science researchers in Leicester. The other members of the board include the director and research area leads, the BRU manager and the clinical assessments manager.